Loading Events

« All Events

Torah Values for Queer Dating

September 28 at 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Text: lifecycles and orthodoc lgbtq+ identity, Torah values for queer dating, Navigating shmirat negiah, online anonymity, hookup apps & more, Wednesday September 28 7:30 pm ET. Images: man looking at dating app on cell phone, Eshel logo, icon of person surrounded by arrows indicating a cycle
Is Yom Kippur a Tu B’av Part Two? Did you know that the same match finding ritual from Tu B’Av was practiced on Yom Kippur? These are auspicious occasions to find life partners as these are also times of the year for introspection, assessing our values, and considering what is important to us. Queer Jews often find that traditional Orthodox frameworks around dating don’t account for their experiences. This can feel scary and destabilizing, but also provides the chance to forge their own path ahead and imagine new possibilities. In this session, we’ll explore the Jewish values underpinning the halachot of shemirat negiah, yichud, consent, and more, and what those values could mean for all relationships. We will identify many different ways to engage in the world of dating that honors queer identities and relationships that can still find supportive guidance from halacha and incorporate Torah values. 
 
Where: Zoom – link will be emailed upon registration
When: Wednesday September 28 7:30 pm ET | 6:30 pm CT | 4:30 pm PT

Details

Date:
September 28
Time:
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm