Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

From Shattering Loss to Renewal: How Tisha B’Av Saved the Jewish People

August 7 at 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

From Shattering Loss to Renwal How Tisha B'Av Saved the Jewish People by Rabbi

We tend to think of Tisha B’Av as an exercise in national memory, but it is much more.  It marks something eternal about us.  There is a fable that Napoleon having heard Jews praying mournfully on the holiday asked what happened to them to cause this outburst of grief.  He was told that their Temple and homeland was ripped from them 1800 years prior.  He is famed to have remarked, that if they are still possessed by a loss that long ago, they will surely someday return.  We will explore the counter intuitive powers of Tisha B’Av and relate them to our own sense of loss and renewal.

Join Rabbi Steve Greenberg for a shiur this Tisha B’Av exploring a Jewish perspective on grief and rebuilding after loss.

Where: Zoom – link sent out after registration

When: August 7, 5PM-6PM ET | 4PM-5PM CT | 2PM-3PM PT

Details

Date:
August 7
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Organizer

Eshel