Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Dating as an LGBTQ+ Jew

August 10 at 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Lifecycles and Orthodox LGBTQ+ Identity | Dating as an LGBTQ+ Jew | Wednesday, August 10, 7:00 pm ET, Virtual register at www.eshelonline.org

Celebrate Tu B’av with Eshel and Yente Over the Rainbow! What is Tu B’av? Traditionally, a day for finding love, as described in the Mishnah:

“Rabban Shimon ben Gamliel said: There were no days as joyous for the Jewish people as the fifteenth of Av and as Yom Kippur, as on them the daughters of Jerusalem would go out in white clothes…and dance in the vineyards. And what would they say? ‘Young man, please lift up your eyes and see what you choose for yourself for a wife. Do not set your eyes toward beauty, but set your eyes toward a good family, as the verse states: ‘Grace is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised'” (Mishnah Taanit Chapter 4)

These days, for LGBTQ+ Jews in the Orthodox community, finding a match who shares your values is often not so simple. While looking for someone to date as a queer person can be challenging, there are also more ways to meet and connect with people now than ever before!

Hear from the matchmakers of Yente Over the Rainbow about the practical and emotional challenges of dating and how to overcome them.

Where: Zoom (you will be emailed the link after registration)

When: 7PM ET | 6PM CT | 4PM PT

Yente Over the Rainbow   

Details

Date:
August 10
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm